Institute for Quantum Materials and Technologies

Research

At the Institute for Quantum Materials and Technology (IQMT) we investigate novel materials where quantum correlations and strong electronic interactions lead to exotic physical properties. Prominent examples are magnetism and superconductivity.

The combination of experimental and theoretical methods at our disposal is geared towards the in-depth understanding of these systems. The full gamut of methods ranges from state-of-the-art material growth capabilities (single crystals and thin films) to transport and thermodynamic methods, x-ray diffraction, inelastic scattering of photons and neutrons, electron spectroscopies and spectromicroscopies. Investigations can further be carried out under extreme conditions (mK temperatures, magnetic fields up to 14 T, high pressure, strain...).

Advanced theoretical modelling and ab-initio simulations furthermore provide valuable insights for the preparation of the experiments and the interpretation of their results.

The experiments are carried out at the IQMT and at several instruments installed at large-scale facilities, in particular the soft x-ray analytics facility WERA External Link and the triple-axis thermal neutron spectrometer 1T External Link.

Home | english  | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | KIT
Kontakt

Institutsleitung
Prof. Dr. Matthieu Le Tacon
Adresse
Karlsruher Institut für Technologie
Institut für
QuantenMaterialien
und Technologien
Hermann-von-Helmholtz-Platz 1
D-76344 Eggenstein-Leopoldshafen
Postadresse
Karlsruher Institut für Technologie
Institut für
QuantenMaterialien
und Technologien
Postfach 3640
D-76021 Karlsruhe
Telefon 0721608-26751
Fax        0721608-24624
E-mail
sekretariatVkt8∂iqmt kit edu

09.07.2020


Termine
15.07.2020
11:00 - Sem. Talk Neupert

Forschungsgebiete

Im Institut für Quantenmaterialien und -technologien (IQMT) untersuchen wir neuartige Materialien, die aufgrund von Quantenkorrelationen und starker elektronischer Wechselwirkungen besondere Eigenschaften aufweisen. Prominente Beispiele hierfür sind Magnetismus und Supraleitung.

Das Zusammenwirken der uns zur Verfügung stehenden experimentellen und theoretischen Methoden zielt auf ein tiefgreifendes Verständnis der Materialeigenschaften ab. Die Skala von Methoden reicht hierbei von modernsten Verfahren der Materialherstellung (Einkristalle und dünne Filme) über Transport- und thermodynamische Messverfahren, Röntgenbeugung, inelastische Streuung von Photonen und Neutronen bis zu Elektronen-Spektroskopie und -Spektromikroskopie. Untersuchungen können auch unter extremen Bedingungen (Temperaturen im mK-Bereich, Magnetfelder bis zu 14 T, hoher Druck, Dehnung ...). durchgeführt werden.

Eine hochentwickelte theoretische Modellierung und ab-initio-Simulationen vermitteln wertvolle Einsichten in die Vorbereitung der Experimente und die Interpretation der hierbei gemessenen Daten.

Die Experimente werden am IQMT und an verschiedenen an anderen Forschungs-einrichtungen installierten Geräten durchgeführt, insbesondere an der Weich-Röntgen-Analytik-Anlage WERA und am 3-Achsen-Neutronen-Spektrometer 1T .